

## 2025 Builder Final Ballot

This list includes all builders who now appear on Final Ballot. Each Voter will submit a list of up to 5 names selected from the list below. The individual who receives at least 50% of the vote and receives the most votes will be elected to the NSHOF Class of 2025.

#### 2025 Builder Final Ballot

Mark Abbott
Clive Charles
Clark Hunt
William Cox
Joe Cummings
Lothar Osiander
Richard Groff
Kari Seitz

## 2025 Builder Semifinal Ballot Biographies

## Mark Abbott (born Aug. 20, 1964)

Eligibility: 10 years as a first-division league official

Abbott was president and deputy commissioner of Major League Soccer for 10 seasons, 2013 through 2022. Prior to becoming president, he was the league's vice president for business affairs. Abbott had been an MLS employee throughout the league's first 30 years, having been hired as the league's first employee in 1993, three years before the league began play. *Contributors category*.

#### Clive Charles (deceased)

Eligibility: Nomination Confirmed by Screening Committee, 2021

A college and Olympic coach. Charles was the men's coach at the University of Portland for 17 seasons, 1986 through 2002, and the women's coach at the University of Portland for 14 seasons, 1989 though 2002. He coached Portland to an NCAA Division I women's championship in 2002 and had a career record of 439 collegiate victories, 144 defeats and 44 ties. He was coach of the United States team that reached the semifinals of the men's soccer tournament at the 2000 Olympic Games. The players he developed at Portland included Hall of Famers Kasey Keller, Shannon MacMillan, Steve Cherundolo and Tiffany Milbrett. *Coaches category*.

#### William Cox (deceased)

Eligibility: A professional league and first-division team official

Cox was founder and president of the International Soccer League, which brought leading European and South American teams to New York, for six summer seasons, from 1960 through 1965. He later was among the founders of the National Professional Soccer League, one of the forerunners of the original North American Soccer League, and was president of the NASL's San Diego Toros in 1968. *Contributors category*.

## Joe Cummings (born 1949)

Eligibility: Four years as a first-division team official and six years as the leader of an affiliated organization

Cummings was president of the Boston Breakers in the Women's United Soccer Association for three seasons, 2001 through 2003, and in Women's Professional Soccer for one season, 2009. He was executive

director of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America for six years, 2009 through 2015. *Contributors category*.

## Richard Groff (born 1946)

Eligibility: 19 years as a U.S. Soccer Federation official and leader of an affiliated organization Groff was a member of the board of directors of the USSF for a total of 16 years in three different stretches beginning in 2001. He was treasurer of the USSF from 1991 to 1994 and president of the U.S. Adult Soccer Association from 2010 to 2014. He won the USSF's Werner Fricker Builder Award in 2014. Contributors category.

# **Burton Haimes (born May 22, 1943)**

Eligibility: 21 years as leader of an affiliated organization

Haimes, one of the most prominent administrators of youth soccer in America, served as either president or chairman of the American Youth Soccer Organization from 1989 to 2009. He also has been a member of the boards of directors of the U.S. Soccer Federation and the National Soccer Hall of Fame. He won the USSF's Werner Fricker Builder Award in 2024. *Contributors category*.

# Clark Hunt (born Feb. 19, 1965)

Eligibility: 17 seasons as a first-division team owner

Hunt has been investor/operator of FC Dallas of Major League Soccer for 18 seasons, 2007 through 2024. He was investor/operator of the Columbus Crew of Major League Soccer for six seasons, 2007 through 2012. Under his ownership, the Crew won the MLS championship in 2008 and Dallas won the U.S. Open Cup in 2016. *Contributors category*.

## Tim Leiweke (born April 21, 1957)

Eligibility: 14 years as a first-division team official

Leiweke was president of Anschutz Entertainment Group, owner of the Los Angeles Galaxy of Major League Soccer, for 13 seasons, 2001 through 2013, and president of Maple Leaf Sports & Entertainment, owner of Toronto FC of MLS, in the 2014 season. Under his leadership, the Galaxy won MLS championships in 2002, 2005, 2011 and 2013, won the U.S. Open Cup in 2001 and 2005, opened a soccer-specific stadium in 2003, and hosted the MLS championship game in 2003, 2004, 2008, 2011 and 2012. During the time that he was president of AEG, three other AEG-owned teams also won MLS titles. *Contributors category*.

#### Lothar Osiander (born Nov. 8, 1939)

Eligibility: Eight years as a national team, Olympic team and first-division coach Osiander was coach of the U.S. men's national team for three years, 1986 through 1988. He coached the United States men's teams in two Olympic Games, 1988 and 1992. In Major League Soccer, he was coach of the Los Angeles Galaxy for two seasons, 1996 and 1997, and the San Jose Earthquakes for two seasons, 1999 and 2000. Coaches category.

## Kari Seitz (born Nov. 2, 1970).

Eligibility: 10 years as an international or first-division referee

Seitz was a FIFA international referee for 15 years, 1999 through 2013, including refereeing nine games at the Women's World Cup in 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2011, six at the Olympic Games in 2004, 2008 and 2012, two at the Women's Under-20 World Cup in 2002, and two in Women's World Cup qualifying in 2010. She was a Major League Soccer referee in 1999, a Women's United Soccer Association referee from 2001 through 2003, a Women's Professional Soccer referee from 2009 through 2011 and a National Women's Soccer League referee in 2013, including refereeing the WPS final in 2009 and 2011, and the NWSL final in 2013. In 2016 she became Senior Manager of the women's referee program at FIFA.