

2024 Builder Semifinal Ballot List

This list includes all builders who now appear on the semifinal ballot. Each Screener will submit a list of 4 names selected from the list below to create the Final Builder Ballot of 4 candidates.

2024 Builder Semifinal Ballot - Contributors

Mark Abbott
William Cox
Joe Cummings
Richard Groff
Burton Haimes
Clark Hunt
Robert Kraft
Tim Leiweke
Francisco Marcos
Fritz Marth

2024 Builder Semifinal Ballot Biographies

Mark Abbott (born Aug. 20, 1964).

Eligibility: 10 years as a first-division league official. Abbott was president and deputy commissioner of Major League Soccer for 10 seasons, 2013 through 2022. Prior to becoming president, he was the league's vice president for business affairs. Abbott had been an MLS employee throughout the league's first 30 years, having been hired as the league's first employee in 1993, three years before the league began play. Contributors category.

William Cox (deceased).

Eligibility: A professional league and first-division team official. Cox was founder and president of the International Soccer League, which brought leading European and South American teams to New York, for six summer seasons, from 1960 through 1965. He later was among the founders of the National Professional Soccer League, one of the forerunners of the original North American Soccer League and was president of the NASL's San Diego Toros in 1968. Contributors category.

Joe Cummings (born 1949).

Eligibility: Four years as a first-division team official and six years as the leader of an affiliated organization. Cummings was president of the Boston Breakers in the Women's United Soccer Association for three seasons, 2001 through 2003, and in Women's Professional Soccer for one season, 2009. He was executive director of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America for six years, 2009 through 2015. Contributors category.

Richard Groff (born 1946).

Eligibility: 19 years as a U.S. Soccer Federation official and leader of an affiliated organization. Groff was a member of the board of directors of the USSF for a total of 16 years in three different stretches beginning in 2001. He was treasurer of the USSF from 1991 to 1994 and president of the U.S. Adult Soccer Association from 2010 to 2014. He won the USSF's Werner Fricker Builder Award in 2014. Contributors category.

Burton Haimes (born May 22, 1943).

Eligibility: 21 years as leader of an affiliated organization. Haimes, one of the most prominent administrators of youth soccer in America, served as either president or chairman of the American Youth Soccer Organization from 1989 to 2009. He also has been a member of the boards of directors of the U.S. Soccer Federation and the National Soccer Hall of Fame. Contributors category.

Clark Hunt (born Feb. 19, 1965).

Eligibility: 17 seasons as a first-division team owner. Hunt has been investor/operator of FC Dallas of Major League Soccer for 17 seasons, 2007 through 2023. He was investor/operator of the Columbus Crew of Major League Soccer for six seasons, 2007 through 2012. Under his ownership, the Crew won the MLS championship in 2008 and Dallas won the U.S. Open Cup in 2016. *Contributors category*.

Robert Kraft (born June 5, 1941).

Eligibility: 28 years as a first-division team owner. Kraft has been investor/operator of the New England Revolution of Major League Soccer for 28 seasons, 1996 through 2023. Under his ownership, New England won the U.S. Open Cup in 2007, and hosted the MLS championship game in 1996, 1999 and 2002. Contributors category.

Tim Leiweke (born April 21, 1957).

Eligibility: 14 years as a first-division team official. Leiweke was president of Anschutz Entertainment Group, owner of the Los Angeles Galaxy of Major League Soccer, for 13 seasons, 2001 through 2013, and president of Maple Leaf Sports & Entertainment, owner of Toronto FC of MLS, in the 2014 season. Under his leadership, the Galaxy won MLS championships in 2002, 2005, 2011 and 2013, won the U.S. Open Cup in 2001 and 2005, opened a soccer-specific stadium in 2003, and hosted the MLS championship game in 2003, 2004, 2008, 2011 and 2012. During the time that he was president of AEG, three other AEG-owned teams also won MLS titles. *Contributors category*.

Francisco Marcos (born 1945).

Eligibility: More than 20 years as the leader of affiliated leagues and organizations. Marcos was the longtime leader of the United Soccer Leagues, the umbrella organization of lower-division soccer in the United States. An official of several North American Soccer League teams, he founded the USL in 1987 as the Southwest Indoor Soccer League and led its growth through a series of phases over several decades. He also has been commissioner of the A-League and a vice president of the U.S. Soccer Federation. He won the USSF's Werner Fricker Builder Award in 2007. Contributors category.

Fritz Marth (deceased).

Eligibility: 22 years as leader of an affiliated organization. Marth was the executive director of the U.S. Amateur Soccer Association from 1981 through 2002, including the years when it conducted the U.S. Open Cup along with its other tournaments. Contributors category.