

# 2021 Builder Final Ballot List

This list includes all builders who now appear on Final Ballot. Each Voter will submit a list of 5 names selected from the list below. The individual who receives at least 50% of the vote and receives the most votes will be elected to the NSHOF Class of 2021.

# 2021 Builder Final Nominee List

Clive Charles

## 2021 Builder Final Ballot List

Esse Baharmast Joe Cummings Richard Groff Brian Hall Sandra Hunt Tim Leiweke Francisco Marcos Kevin Payne Kari Seitz



### **2021 Builders Final Ballot Overview**

This is the list of individuals who have advanced to the Final Ballot through the screening process.

# 2021 Builder Nominee Final Ballot Biographies

### Clive Charles (deceased).

A U.S. national team and prominent collegiate coach. With U.S. Soccer, Charles most notably led the U.S. Men to the semifinals of the 2000 Olympic Soccer Tournament shortly after receiving a cancer diagnosis that would take his life in 2003. He was also an assistant with the 1998 Men's World Cup team and coached the U.S. U-20 women. At Portland, Charles led the University of Portland men's and women's teams to a combined 439-144-44 record and a NCAA championship for the women in 2002 while helping in the development of national team players Tiffeny Milbrett, Shannon MacMillan, Steve Cherundolo and Kasey Keller. He played 17 years as a professional, beginning in his native London with West Ham as a pioneering black player. His career featured stops at Cardiff City, Portland Timbers, Montreal Olympique, Pittsburg Spirit and Los Angeles Lazers.

# **2021 Builder Final Ballot Biographies**

### Esse Baharmast (born March 11, 1954).

An international and first-division referee and a U.S. Soccer Federation executive. Baharmast was a FIFA international referee for six years, 1993 through 1998, including refereeing two games at the 1998 World

Cup, three at the 1996 Olympic Games, one at the 1997 Copa America, and five at the CONCACAF Gold Cup in 1996 and 1998. He was a Major League Soccer referee for three seasons, 1996 through 1998, including refereeing both the MLS final and the U.S. Open Cup final in 1996. He was the USSF's Director of Officials for 11 years, 1998 through 2008. He won the USSF's Werner Fricker Builder Award in 2020.

### Joe Cummings (born 1949).

A first-division team official and a coaches association administrator. Cummings was president of the Boston Breakers in the Women's United Soccer Association for three seasons, 2001 through 2003, and in Women's Professional Soccer for one season, 2009. He was executive director of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America for six years, 2009 through 2015.

### Richard Groff (born 1946)

A U.S. Soccer Federation official and amateur soccer official. Groff was a member of the board of directors of the USSF from 2001 to 2006 and again from 2010 to 2018. He was treasurer of the USSF from 1991 to 1994 and president of the U.S. Adult Soccer Association from 2010 to 2014. He won the USSF's Werner Fricker Builder Award in 2014.

## Brian Hall (born June 5, 1961).

An international and first-division referee. Hall was a FIFA international referee for 15 years, 1992 through 2006, including refereeing two games at the 2002 World Cup, six in World Cup qualifying between 1992 and 2005, one at the 1999 Confederations Cup, one at the 1993 Under-17 World Cup, four at the CONCACAF Gold Cup in 2000, 2002 and 2005, and three in the CONCACAF Champions Cup in 2005 and 2006. He was a Major League Soccer referee for 11 seasons, 1996 through 2006, including refereeing the MLS title game in 1997 and 2003, and the U.S. Open Cup final in 2002. He has been CONCACAF director of officials from 2010 to 2013 and from 2016 to 2019.

**Sandra Hunt** (born June 14, 1959) A pioneer women's referee. Hunt, the leading American female referee in the 1990s, was a FIFA international referee for six years, 1999 (when FIFA began naming female referees) through 2004, including refereeing two games at the 1999 Women's World Cup. She was a Major League Soccer referee for three seasons, 1998 through 2000, and Women's United Soccer League referee for three seasons, 2001 through 2003, including refereeing the WUSA championship game in 2001.

# Tim Leiweke (born April 21, 1957).

A first-division team official. Leiweke was president of Anschutz Entertainment Group, owner of the Los Angeles Galaxy of Major League Soccer, for 14 seasons, 2001 through 2013, and president of Maple Leaf Sports & Entertainment, owner of Toronto FC of MLS, in the 2014 season. Under his leadership, the Galaxy won the MLS championship in 2002, 2005, 2011 and 2013, won the U.S. Open Cup in 2001 and 2005, opened a soccer-specific stadium in 2003, hosted the MLS championship game in 2003, 2004, 2008, 2011 and 2012, and hosted the MLS all-star game in 2003. During the time that he was president of AEG, three other AEG-owned teams also won MLS titles.

### Francisco Marcos (born 1945).

The longtime leader of the United Soccer Leagues. Marcos, an official of several North American Soccer League teams, founded the USL in 1987 as the Southwest Indoor Soccer League and led its growth through a series of phases over several decades. He also has been commissioner of the A-League and a vice president of the U.S. Soccer Federation. He won the USSF's Werner Fricker Builder Award in 2007.

#### Kevin Payne (born March 5, 1953).

A first-division team official. Payne was president and general manager of D.C. United of Major League Soccer for 15 seasons, 1996 through 2001 and 2004 through 2012. He was president of Toronto FC of MLS in the 2013 season, and from 2001 through 2004 was an executive of Anshutz Entertainment Group, which owned several MLS franchises. He won the USSF's Werner Fricker Builder Award in 2011. Under his leadership, D.C. United won the MLS championship in 1996, 1997, 1999 and 2004; won the U.S. Open Cup in 1996 and 2008; hosted the MLS championship game in 1997, 2000 and 2007, and hosted the MLS all-star game in 2004.

#### Kari Seitz (born Nov. 2, 1970).

An international and first-division referee. Seitz was a FIFA international referee for 15 years, 1999 through 2013, including refereeing nine games at the Women's World Cup in 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2011, six at the Olympic Games in 2004, 2008 and 2012, two at the Women's Under-20 World Cup in 2002, and two in Women's World Cup qualifying in 2010. She was a Major League Soccer referee in 1999, a Women's United Soccer Association referee from 2001 through 2003, a Women's Professional Soccer referee from 2009 through 2011 and a National Women's Soccer League referee in 2013, including refereeing the WPS final in 2009 and 2011, and the NWSL final in 2013. Since 2016, she has been Senior Manager of the women's referee program at FIFA.