

## 2024 Builder Final Ballot

This list includes all builders who now appear on Final Ballot. Each Voter will submit a list of 2 names selected from the list below. The individual who receives at least 50% of the vote and receives the most votes will be elected to the NSHOF Class of 2024.

### 2024 Builder Final Ballot List - Contributors

Mark Abbott William Cox Clark Hunt Francisco Marcos

# 2024 Builder Final Ballot Biographies

# Mark Abbott (born Aug. 20, 1964).

Eligibility: 10 years as a first-division league official. Abbott was president and deputy commissioner of Major League Soccer for 10 seasons, 2013 through 2022. Prior to becoming president, he was the league's vice president for business affairs. Abbott had been an MLS employee throughout the league's first 30 years, having been hired as the league's first employee in 1993, three years before the league began play. Contributors category.

## William Cox (deceased).

Eligibility: A professional league and first-division team official. Cox was founder and president of the International Soccer League, which brought leading European and South American teams to New York, for six summer seasons, from 1960 through 1965. He later was among the founders of the National Professional Soccer League, one of the forerunners of the original North American Soccer League and was president of the NASL's San Diego Toros in 1968. Contributors category.

# **Clark Hunt** (born Feb. 19, 1965).

*Eligibility: 17 seasons as a first-division team owner.* Hunt has been investor/operator of FC Dallas of Major League Soccer for 17 seasons, 2007 through 2023. He was investor/operator of the Columbus Crew of Major League Soccer for six seasons, 2007 through 2012. Under his ownership, the Crew won the MLS championship in 2008 and Dallas won the U.S. Open Cup in 2016. *Contributors category*.

### Francisco Marcos (born 1945).

Eligibility: More than 20 years as the leader of affiliated leagues and organizations. Marcos was the longtime leader of the United Soccer Leagues, the umbrella organization of lower-division soccer in the United States. An official of several North American Soccer League teams, he founded the USL in 1987 as the Southwest Indoor Soccer League and led its growth through a series of phases over several decades. He also has been commissioner of the A-League and a vice president of the U.S. Soccer Federation. He won the USSF's Werner Fricker Builder Award in 2007. Contributors category.